Welcome

Welcome to my blog, dedicated to my foray into the new hobby of baking and cooking for enjoyment ( and not just because I have to in order to eat!). I had never ever enjoyed cooking before and saw it as a chore. It wasn’t until 2015 , when I started recuperating from an illness , an illness that meant I couldn’t stand the sight or smell let alone the taste of food without vomting, that I started to take a genuine interest in cooking for fun and enjoyment and actually learning how to cook. I suppose having not been physically able to “stomach” food for months, once I was able to eat again I wasn’t taken it for granted again.

I stay in a cottage on a farm with my husband, so my new hobby served to prevent boredom, when I was unable to go out and about whilst recuperating. It also made my hubby happy as he got lots of lovely ( and sometimes not so lovely) cakes at his teatime!

SAM_5559.JPG
My Wee Blue Mixer! She’s a beaut.

 

My first purchase was an electric standing mixer. I coveted a KitchenAid, but decided to start small and inexpensive in case the mixer got relegated to the hobby cupboard. You know the cupboard that has the tennis rackets, rollerblades, guitar, glue gun and beads, the cupboard where hobbies go to die. However, I’m holding out hope that I will eventually upgrade to a fabulous KichenAid mixer. As you can probably guess the mixer I bought is blue, hence the name of my blog.

I attempt recipes from my favourite cooks such as Nigella, Pioneer Woman, Barefoot Contessa , and also traditional recipes I have been received from friends/ relatives, as well as ones I have made up myself. But don’t expect a perfect blog, that’s not the aim. My kitchen disasters (along with my kitchen successes) will also be named and shamed for all time!

Hope you enjoy the journey as much as I hope I will,

Love Kelly xx

12 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. I hope you’ve fully recovered from your illness, Kelly, and I wish you all the best with your blog. I used to find cooking a bit of a chore too but have really grown to love it over the last couple of years. I have a sweet tooth so have always enjoyed baking! I’m looking forward to browsing through your recipes for some inspiration. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words Karen. I am a lot better than I was, but as its a chronic condition it can flare up. But i’m making the most of each good day I have! I tend to make a lot of sweet treats, always gotta have pudding after supper ,and would be great if you tried a recipe. I don’t have too many recipes on my blog at the moment as just started, but hopefully this will build up over time. Any feedback would be great. Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad to hear you’re better than you were and are making the best of the good days! I must try your Lantern Tray Bakes recipe (they look delicious!) and will provide feedback. I suspect I will be like your hubbie and licking the pan! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I am much better thanks, however whilst my condition is managed with meds my energy levels are much lowered than normal, so can have good and bad days. Cooking and baking has definitely helped give me something to focus on and I will never take food for granted again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Going through something difficult like health issues definitely makes you appreciate the simple things in life. I love baking for others too as its seems to give them so much pleasure to receive such as gift. Love making others smile as it makes me smile too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

