Wedding Brownies

 

SAM_5822

I looooovvvveeee brownies, not only because they are so yummy and contain chocolate (which makes everything taste better and life good)  but because they are so simple to make. Given that, I have about a hundred different recipes for making them (how can something so simple have so many ways to make it??) Anyway, I suppose it doesn’t matter which recipe you use as long as you enjoy them! However, I gotta say this is probably one of my very favourite brownie recipes.  This could be because of the story behind them as well as there yumminess!

You see, I got the recipe when I attended the wedding of some really good friends in the summer. The recipe, along with the dry ingredients was the wedding favour. The bride also loves these brownies, hence them being a favour. This was such a different idea for a favour and being a lover of baking and anything baking related I really loved this.

At the end of the night, we took home two packets of the ingredients to the encouragement ( although hubbie doesn’t really need much encouragement when it comes to food to tell you the truth) of the bride, groom and grooms parents. Both packets were quickly made up and devoured, however I obviously wasn’t quite in a brownie induced comma as I had the sense to keep the ingredient list that was stickered to the packaging. The recipe has now been hoarded in my recipe book and named after the couple.

Ingredients are so simple and a staple of most baking cupboards….

SAM_5813

250 grams of granulated sugar or Caster sugar ( whichever you have to hand)

65 grams Cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon of Salt

70 grams plain flour ( I use locally milled flour, Mungoswells)

145 grams butter ( Scottish butter, Grahams)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 Eggs ( local organic eggs, Phantassie Organic produce)

Optional: Add pecans, hazelnuts, walnuts really any nuts or anything you have to hand. In fact I’ve added marshmallows to these before! You could double the recipe and put peanut butter in between the mixture in the tin. Brownies are so versatile.

Use whatever brands of butter, flour etc you prefer I have just highlighted what I normally use.

Preheat oven to about 160°c. Grease a baking pan about 8×8 inch.

Basically just mix all the ingredients together. I just dump everything into the bowl of my stand mixer then mix until all combined! No specific order or anything, easy peasy! Could be renamed ” dump brownies” or maybe not as ” dump” has a few negative connotations in Scotland!! Lets not go there…….anyway back to the recipe…..

Press into a baking tin and place into the Oven for 20 -25 minutes. Take out and leave to cool for a bit in the tray, then cut into evenly sized pieces and leave to cool further on a wire rack. I got about 12 brownies from this recipe.

This is also such as simple and quick recipe to make if you need a quick dessert item or cake to go with a cuppa tea as the preparation takes only a few minutes. I’ve never timed it, but maybe I will to see how quickly I can do this in! I made these the other day after realising we had no cakes in the house and hubby was due in for his lunch. He comes in for his lunch when he’s working close to the house ( which is most days really unless he is stuck in a tractor in a field far away!) and he has a bit, well a lot of a sweet tooth, and enjoys cake with his cuppa tea. These were just out the oven by the time he and his colleague came in, so a few got pinched straight from the tray to eat whilst still warm and gooey.

These could be served with whipped or double cream, ice cream, strawberries, raspberries or just by themselves.

Enjoy!

P.s. I would love to hear about other peoples favourite brownie recipes. Feel free to leave a comment or email me at weebluemixer@gmail.com

SAM_5823

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Wedding Brownies

    1. They certainly are. I love any recipe passed to me my friends and family as I feel by recording them and baking them I’m keeping some traditions going! And of course making things friends enjoy.

      Like

    1. To be honest I’m not sure. I haven’t tasted or used Irish butter. I would imagine they are the same, but just made in different countries. They probably use similar farming methods and have similar animals such as Friesians or Ayrshire cows with similar feeding e.g grass fed. The butter I use is Grahams butter whose milk comes from Freisians and nothing is added to it.
      http://www.grahamsfamilydairy.com/ Is butter made in America different tasting to Irish ?

      Like

      1. Yes much different. Irish or French butter has a higher fat content, has less water added, is more dense and in my opinion far superior for baking. I heard Scottish butter is even better than Irish.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s really interesting to know. I will have to do a taste test with Irish butter vs Scottish butter!! I would be bias at the moment, as all my baking done with Scottish. I tend to always buy Scottish in order to help the Scottish dairy industry as hubbies family are diary farmers as well as some of our friends.

        Like

Leave a Reply

