Potato, Potato, Potato…. Oh and a Cabbage

I spent all my time today making Guinness cakes and Peppermint Shortbread that I didn’t actually consider what I would have for supper. Upon checking the fridge and freezer, I realized there were slim pickings, and as hubby was away in the car to training I wasn’t able to go out and pick something up from the shops. I resorted to a lone Quorn Escalope that was squashed in the back of the freezer looking quite pathetic. Waste not, want not I suppose [ face scrunches up]. Luckily for hubby he gets his meal at the club tonight. Although I would love to have seen his face if I presented him with a meat-free escalope. Must be the evil wife in me! Hahaha [I can even do the evil laugh].

We also had potatoes and cabbage, so given that it was St Patricks day and I was on a bit of an Irish high from all the baking,  I decided to combine the two and make yummy Colcannon. This is such an easy,comforting and creamy side dish.

Ingredients

SAM_6114
Yummy Organic Veg

 

3 x Potatoes peeled and cut into quarters, 1/4 small January King Cabbage ( or any cabbage you have or you could use Kale) chopped . You can add more or less Cabbage as per your own preference.  About 2 tablespoons butter, about 80 grams of cream cheese or you could use milk instead and some salt and pepper. I tend to estimate the quantities of butter and cream cheese or milk.

Boil the potatoes and cabbage in separate pans until soft. Drain, and in the pan with the potatoes, add the butter, cream cheese, salt and pepper then mash together.  Taste and if required add more seasonings or cream cheese. Then add the cabbage to the potatoes and mix well. Then Serve and enjoy, preferably not along with a scabby Quorn Escalope!

5 thoughts on “Potato, Potato, Potato…. Oh and a Cabbage

  1. I just made colcannon, but didn’t use potato I used cauliflower, watching the carbs sort of. I have to look up Quorn escalope that is something I have never heard of. Your colcannon looks totally delicous. Happy St Patricks Day!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it was yummy, the best thing on my plate tonight! I’d never thought to use cauliflower. Bet that was delicious. I love cauliflower. Quorn is basically a meat substitute, so the quorn escalope was pretending to be a chicken escalope! You also get Quorn mince, sausages etc. Happy St Patricks day to you too xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

