Sunday Snacks

Sunday morning was busy busy busy. It was a gorgeous sunny morning, so hubby took the opportunity to clean the gutters and do the garden ……..all before 11am!

Since he had been so busy, for his mid morning snack I decided to make him some marmalade muffins. I think this is a Pioneer Woman recipe, I say think because the recipe was hastily scribbled on a used piece of scrap paper, lengthways, sideways, upside down and “filed” in my recipe book, but had no name for reference.

SAM_6197.JPG
I hope the original notes weren’t important. Whatever they are they don’t ring any bell to me!

 

I halved the recipe as, as much as we love muffins eating 24 by ourselves is a bit much. Actually we would probably have seen this as a challenge and scoffed the lot, which would make me sick. Not hubby though as he has a stomach of steel!

Half the mixture gives 12 muffins.

Ingredients

2 cups of plain flour, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 tablespoon of Baking Powder, 1/4 stick of butter ( about 30 grams)  1/8 stick of Trex Shortening (15 grams),  1 cup of Marmalade. I used thick cut to get lovely big chunks in the muffins, but you can use any kind you prefer.  1/2 cup of Orange Juice, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 2 beaten eggs ( I used 1 large and 1 medium cos I’m crazy like that!).

Topping- 1/4 cup of sugar, 1/8 cup of brown sugar ( I just measured half of my 1/4 cup as I don’t have an 1/8 of a cup measure handy, in fact I’m not sure you get them!?), 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1 tablespoon melted butter and a pinch of salt.

Preheat oven to 190 °C.  Spray muffins tins with cooking spray.

Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl. Add the 1/4 cup of sugar and mix. Add the butter and Trex and use a pastry cutter to combine.

In a separate bowl, add the marmalade, orange juice and vanilla and whisk. Add these wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, barely combine. Drizzle in the beaten eggs. Fill the muffin tins with this mixture, fill them about 3/4 full. Before placing in the oven, make up the topping.

Mix the 1/4 cup sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and mix. Drizzle in the melted butter and again mix.. Add the topping to the top of the unbaked mixture in the tins. I covered most of the top surface of each muffin. Pop in the oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown and a cocktail stick comes out clean.  Leave for a few minutes until they are cool enough to take out the  tins and place on cooling racks.

 

These are delicious warm with a cuppa tea. I spread mine with some Lemon Curd. Yummy. They certainly set us up for the next spring task of planting seeds and plants. We planted some corn, mint, rosemary, lavender, coriander and sunflowers.

 

15 thoughts on “Sunday Snacks

    1. Thanks. I love muffins as they are so versatile, you can add anything to them! Its the waiting for the seeds to take and to actually see or be able to use the produce that I hate. I don’t have a lot patience! Hoping to plant rhubarb and lettuce soon too, but rhubarb along with lavender won’t come to anything until next year! Hope the weather improves with you so you get to start planting soon.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you. My photography can be quite shocking and I only have a tiny digital camera, but my photography skills may improve with my blog too! We stay in a gorgeous part of Scotland and its so lovely and peaceful being out in the countryside, if a bit wet and muddy at times, with our life planned around the farming and rugby calenders!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Scotland has lots of great places to visit, gorgeous scenery, history and culture. If you get the chance you have to visit. I love going to the Isle of Skye,Orkney and Mull of Kintyre, pretty much most places in the Highlands and Islands are lovely. Edinburgh is so vibrant especially during the festival. But Glasgow is great too and the people are a lot friendlier in Glasgow.I’m a bit of a history geek, so Scotland is perfect for that, lots lots of interesting history, monuments, castles, battlegrounds, museums. The University I did my undergraduate degree ( which was history) was founded in 1495!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Muffins are great snacks! It is also interesting that you add marmalade in there and I bet that’s going to be delish. With lemon curd makes it double delish. Gotta try making my own lemon curds one of these days. I’m obsessed with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Muffins are awesome and you can make pretty much any flavour imaginable. I love lemon curd too and its so easy to make your own. I have a really easy recipe I’ll need to post for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

