Fake Dan Cake

SAM_6422

This weekend was a busy and varied one with alot of driving and rushing about, but also a lot of fun.  On the Saturday, hubbie had a rugger game to play and we also had his cousins 21st Birthday party in the evening. On the Sunday we visited hubbie’s gran, saw some newborn lambs at his Uncles farm, as well as going to visit friends and their lovely wee baby girl.

Whilst hubbie was away at rugger on the Saturday, I had just had enough time to whip up a wee cake for our Sunday visit to friends.

Now, I wanted to make a Dan cake. Not sure why its called a Dan cake but this was a cake that our friend, who had been my hubbie’s flatmate at University, used to devour, not by the slice, but by the cake. As I recall it was basically a lemon madeira cake, in a half moon shape with thick icing on the top with a chocolate swirly pattern on top.  I have never been able to buy it in the shops since we left Uni , so I had a difficult time remembering how it actually tasted.

As I was unable to find a recipe I decided to use the basic madeira cake recipe from Nigella but added slightly more lemon juice and lemon zest and made up a basic icing topping, to make a ” Fake Dan Cake”.

Madeira cake is my dads favourite cake and I always make it, when he comes to visit or I  visit him, using this Nigella recipe. It is a really good, simple and easy recipe and I have found the cake turns out perfect each time (Oops think I just jinxed this now!).

Ingredients

240 grams of softened butter, 200 grams of caster sugar ( original recipe also states to have some extra sugar to sprinkle on top prior to going in oven, but I skipped this step as I was going to cover the top with icing), grated zest and juice of 2 lemons ( original recipe is 1 ), 3 large eggs, 210 grams of self raising flour and 90 grams of plain flour.

Topping: 125 grams of icing sugar and some cold water ( packet instructions)

Preheat oven to 170 °C. In a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar together.

 

Add the grated lemon zest

SAM_6404.

Add the eggs one at a time and with each egg add a tablespoon of flour and mix until combined. Add the remaining flour and the lemon juice and mix well.

 

Spoon into a loaf pan ( I still used a loaf pan even though the original cake was in a half moon shape). Bake in the oven for 1 hour or until a cocktail stick comes out clean.

Leave for about 5 minutes then remove from the loaf pan and place on a cooling rack.

Once cooled, make up some icing according to packet instructions and then drizzle on top from side to side.  So it actually looked nothing like the original Dan Cake, as it was not in a half moon shape nor did it have a thick icing layer on top and I couldn’t be 100% sure that it actually tasted like a Dan cake, but I went down very well.

Given the travelling we had to do on the Saturday, once the cake was ready I placed it in a cake carrier and strapped it into the back of my messy and dirty car and headed to pick up hubby from rugby.

 

Included a wee fuzzy photo of me and hubby at 21st party , smiles and red faces says it all!

Weekend. DONE!

11 thoughts on “Fake Dan Cake

    1. Aww thank you Lynz, that’s lovely of you to say. We were really busy, so much so that today I was shattered and had to rest pretty much the whole day. Our friends enjoyed the cake anyway, so I count that as a good sign!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree with that. I always think for home baking or cooking its about the taste and not the looks. I’m not a Michelin starred chef, so my foods not going to look it! Lol

      Like

    1. Thank you. Madeira cake is simple but so lovely. Sometimes a simple and relatively plain cake is all that is required. I figured since I was glammed up, and not in pjs’s or jodphurs or jeans for a change, it warranted a photo Lol ! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

